1.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, Dates of Admission to Confederation, Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected and Present Areas

Province, Territory or	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (sq. miles)		
District					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario ¹ Quebec ² Nova Scotia New Brunswick Manitoba ³	July July July	1, 1, 1,	$1867 \\ 1867 \\ 1867$	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23.	348,141 523,860 20,743 27,473	64, 441 71, 000 325 512	412,582 594,860 21,068 27,985
British Columbia	July	20,	1871	1870. Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	219,723 359,279	26,789 6,976	246,512 366,255
Prince Edward Island	July	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873		0,510	2,184
Saskatchewan4	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII,			
Alberta ⁴ Newfoundland	Sept. Mar.	1, 31,	1905 1949	c. 42) Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3). The British North America Act, 1949 (12-13 Geo. VI, c. 22)	220,182 248,800 147,994	31,518 6,485 7,370	251,700 255,285 155,364
Northwest Territories ⁵	July	15,	1870	Act of Imperial Parliament-Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870.		51 465	1,304,903
Mackenzie ⁶ Keewatin ⁶ Franklin ⁶	Jan.	1,	1920 1920 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	493,225	84,265 9,700 7,500	527,490 228,160
Yukon Territory ⁷	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6)	205,346	1,730	207,076
				Canada	3,577,163	268,611	3,845,774

¹ The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40).

² Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 45), and diminished Mar. 1, 1927, in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council, whereby approximately 112,000 sq. miles of territory (formerly considered as part of Quebec) was assigned to Newfoundland. ³ Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881, and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32).

* Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Athabasca, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian Privy Council, concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1990.

minute of Canadian Privy Council, concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1890. ⁵ By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870, pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105), the former territories by the Act of 32-33 Vict., c. 3, and as the Northwest Territories by R.S.C. 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1890 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada, and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by 445 Edw. VII, (33 Vict., c. 3), and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1891 by 44 Vict., c. 14. The Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905, and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

⁶ By 39 Vict., c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be re-annexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed, and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 39 Vict. was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882, the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabasca were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, the further provisional districts were endefined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council, dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920), the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. J. The province district of Vukon established in 1895 was created a indicial district of the North-

⁷ The provisional district of Yukon, established in 1895, was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sec. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (R.S.C. 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897, and by the Yukon Territory Act (61 Vict., c. 6) was declared to be a separate territory.